Chocolate fudge brownie cakes with cookie dough icing

*Drool* *Sugar coma* Aaaaahhhhh. What an amazing combo!

I found this recipe on Sally’s Baking Addiction which if you haven’t already discovered, you need to go and have a look. I don’t think  I’ve ever seen so many amazing recipes for cakes, cookies, fudge thingies etc combining peanut butter and cookie dough and chocolate and sprinkles and oreos and all things yummy. It’s like heaven. I just wish calories didn’t exist or I actually enjoyed exercising so I had an excuse to make everything on her website all at once. There are just no words to describe! I’ve used her recipes once before to make chewy M&M cookies which I convinced myself were healthy just because they contained oats…It’s like porridge…just with butter…lots of butter…and M&M’s.

Because Sally is American all her recipes use cup measurements (and also, sometimes annoyingly, she includes ingredients such as boxed brownie mix (such as in this recipe for oreo brownies) and sometimes there isn’t always a perfect UK alternative – but there’s always a way around it!).

*Makes mental note to make oreo brownies*

So I’m going to do you all a favour and write the conversions of the measurements from cups to gramms so you don’t have to waste precious cake-time working it out yourself! ;)

For the brownie cake mix you will need (I halved these quantities because I’m the only one in the house at the minute, and it made 6 cupcakes – so this would make about 12):

115g butter

170g sugar

60g cocoa powder

85g self-raising flour

couple of drops of vanilla essence

2 eggs

a pinch of salt

You can probably get away with just shoving everything in the bowl and mixing it together, but Sally has specific instructions on the recipe which you might want to check out – I firmly believe the difference between brownies and cupcakes are in the way they’ve actually been mixed together so I did take a bit of time to follow her instructions so they were just right. I cooked mine for about 10 minutes (they were still a little wobbly when I took them out, but they firm up when cooling – just make sure it’s not too uncooked.

For the cookie dough frosting you will need: (again, I halved these quantites and it still made quite a lot, so I have a little tub in the freezer with some leftovers which I couldn’t stomach!)

115g butter

170g sugar

couple of drops of vanilla essence

140g self-raising flour

a pinch of salt

4 tablespoons of milk

Check out Sally’s page for the instructions for this – but I just mixed everything together and used an electric whisk to mix it.

TIP: Don’t use a different mixing bowl/spoon for the cake and the frosting…it’s all chocolate and it’s all yummy so it doesn’t really matter! Although I’m sure health and safety officials would have a freak if they found out I was mixing raw egg mix with the icing…I can confirm I haven’t died, so I’m sure it’s safe.

These cakes are just simply amazing (although mine weren’t as photogenic as Sally’s were!) and I can’t wait to eat the rest of them today!!

 

Leave a Reply

