When In Doubt: Bake.

I have reached a level of boredom that has never been reached before. I’ve tidied my room, I’ve hoovered every piece of carpet in the house. I’ve tried (and so far, succeeded – to mine and everyone else’s amazement) to get fit. I’ve polished furniture, waxed the leather sofa and even considered tidying my brothers room (he has unopened Christmas presents from three years ago – mum is threatening some awful things if he doesn’t come home to do it). I’ve slept, I’ve read books, I’ve tried to come up with interesting things to blog about – and failed. And I have come to a conclusion.

When in doubt: Bake.

It being Fathers Day tomorrow, I do actually have an excuse, but I’ve been known in the past to bake stupid numbers of cakes/brownies/sweet things for them to sit in a tub for weeks and eventually be thrown out. So today, I baked a chocolate cake. A chocolate cake that has become famous in our family for being “Kristen’s mum’s chocolate cake” and is often the deciding factor in whether or not someone is going to attend my birthday parties. The recipe is from a book, but I don’t know which one. I just know my mum makes it all the time for every occasion: Christmas, Birthdays, Easter, People Leaving, Congratulations etc etc etc. It’s full proof. You need this recipe in your life!

You Will Need:

6oz Self Raising Flour

2 Pinches of Salt

3oz Cocoa Powder

4 Eggs

8oz Caster Sugar

8oz Butter/Margarine

6 Drops of Vanilla Essence

6 Tablespoons of Warm Water

Sift the flour and salt into a bowl and add the cocoa powder. Add the eggs, sugar, butter and vanilla essence. Beat with an electric whisk for two minutes. Add the warm water. Beat for a further minute. You’ll see it change to a lighter brown colour. Pour the mixture into a baking tin lined with butter/oil etc to stop it sticking.

Pop it in the oven for about 35 minutes at 180 degrees celcius. It might need a bit longer, just check it. If it starts burning before it’s ready, put a sheet of greaseproof paper over the top 🙂

For The Icing:

4oz Sugar

4 Fluid oz Milk

5oz Dark Chocolate

2oz Butter/Margarine

2 Tablespoons of Double Cream

Vanilla Essence.

Heat the milk and sugar until the sugar dissolves. Bring it up to the boil and leave it, without stirring for 8 minutes. Take off the heat and add the other ingredients. Leave to cool, then put it in the fridge for two hours to thicken. Make sure the cake is completely cool before spreading the icing. Cut the cake in half and spread some through the middle too.  YUM 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

