When Pete Came To Stay

So for the last few days Pete has been up visiting me before he goes away for a month to travel around Europe! We picked him up on Thursday after I went to my brothers graduation (I’d put a photo up but they’re on my Dad’s camera and he’s just gone on holiday too..). But it was a lovely day and we’re all very proud of him 🙂

The weather was rubbish all weekend (apart from today, which is when he had to leave!) so we didn’t really do much (also due to the fact that I live in a really rubbish place and there’s not really much to do!).

On Saturday we made pizzas which were really yummy and so much cheaper than ordering in.

The recipe is really easy too, so I’ll share it with you! We use a breadmaker because it kneads the dough to save your arms so it rises properly. I think it saves faffing about with the yeast too, because after making doughballs I think you have to leave the yeast in warm water to do its’ thing’ and then leave the dough in a warm place to rise…the breakmaker does all that for you!

To make enough dough for two pizzas (the size of the ones in the photo) you will need:

1/2 a teaspoon of yeast

300g of white bread flour

1/2 a tablespoon of sugar

15g of butter

1 tablespoon of milk powder

210ml of warm water

(the recipe also has 1 teaspoon of salt in it, but we leave it out because with all the toppings etc it can get a bit too salty.)

When using a breakmaker you just shove everything in (yeast first) and put it in, following the instructions on your machine. Ours has a ‘pizza dough mode’ especially for this purpose!

For pudding I made chocolate mousse too, because we had ice cream and strawberries to use up. The recipe I normally use is from a recipe book by a student  called Sam Stern, but I’ve left it at uni and couldn’t find the recipe online, so had to use one from the BBC Food website. It was a lot of faffing about with egg whites and such, and I must have done something wrong along the way because the chocolate solidified a bit and went “snotty” as Pete called it. So I’m not going to share the recipe here, although I would recommend Sam Stern’s recipe.

Then last night we made Fajitas with a box kit, chicken and a red pepper. Nothing difficult, just good food 🙂 Sat infront of the TV and watched the first two series of Gavin and Stacey too which was lovely!

We went to see ‘The Five Year Engagement‘ too which was a great film. Really heart-warming and funny, and not too girly, so Pete enjoyed it too!

Bit sad now he’s left though, and I won’t see him for another six weeks while he’s in Europe – hopefully the time will go fast!

Leave a Reply

